Giving up on Something Borrowed

Turning movies into books is always a tricky business. When I went to see Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince with my friends from grad school, it was an experience. It had been years since I’d read that fabulous sixth book of the famous series, but I was still excited. The hit on the Weasley’s domain sent my friend Ryan into a state of shock and disappointment. I’ve had reactions similar to Ryan’s a few times in my life. It happened with Confessions of a Shopaholic. Isla Fisher couldn’t even fix the botched adaptation with her spunk and personality. And then there was the backwards one. I had watched Stardust the movie before I read the book. My best friend read Neil Gaiman’s book for our book club and I found it awful. The movie was actually better. Captain Shakespeare was more entertaining and made the whole experience more enjoyable.

Today I watched the movie Something Borrowed. I read the book back in February, right after I saw the first movie preview. I was conflicted. It’s a bit of a controversial book. All along, you are supposed to cheer for Rachel, the girl who steals her best friend’s fiancé (Dex). Sure the best friend (Darcy) was a bit of a jerk, but that doesn’t mean she needs to be crapped on by her best friend. The second book, Something Blue, redeems the whole affair a bit but still, it never sat quite right with me.

The movie was alright. It wasn’t great and it wasn’t awful. Emily Giffin’s cameo appearance in the park is mildly amusing, and John Krasinksi is great as Ethan, the best friend both girls knew growing up, but most of the movie was a bit of a bit blah. Which relationship was the movie supposed to portray? Was it Rachel and Dex’s or Rachel and Darcy’s? Either choose or make the story about the triangle.  It didn’t quite do it for me. Maybe it was because Ethan finally told Rachel of his feelings only to be shot down because of her obsession with Dex.

If I had to grade the movie, I’d maybe give it a C. I’d give Krasinski at B- for his efforts. He was funny and did great, but he still had that DTR scene with Rachel that takes him down from the A-/B+ level.

So there you go. Perhaps this chick-lit doesn’t deserve a great movie adaptation. Eh. It was a nice effort I suppose. I’m just hoping that this summer’s The Help and 2012’s The Hunger Games adaptations turn out to be good ones. J I don’t want those stories to be ruined for me.

Leave a Reply

