My Sister’s Wedding Revisited

Shanna got married. I can hardly believe it. This is weird since I was there. But Shanna finally got married. I really didn’t know if this was ever going to happen. It’s not that Shanna didn’t deserve it or that she is strange or anything, it has more to do with the fact that I don’t have a clue how or why people really choose to be together. I’m not a gambler. I don’t like to waste my money. The same is true of me and my relationships. I’m not going to invest the time or emotions in something that is bound to leave me broken and disappointed. But luckily, my sister is not as much of a chicken as I am. She loved a boy and she got him. Way to go, sister. Way to go.

So who is this guy? I know you wanted to know about him. I actually don’t know a whole lot about my brother-in-law. He seems nice and he makes my sister happy, which is the most important thing right now. See. Doesn’t she look happy?

She was equally giddy a few years ago when I first realized that he was one of her possible “dream guys.” She had just moved back to Oregon after many years in Idaho and I was living back with my parents either before moving to England or to Ukraine. (I can’t remember for sure.) Anyway, Mark was living in Portland so the two of them met up there for dinner. He paid for dinner at whatever expensive restaurant it was and the waiter wrapped her food to-go in foil in the shape of a swan. This right here speaks of the possible romance and feelings a young woman might go through. If you grow up watching Disney Princesses and BBC Classics, a foil swan is a symbol of a bright and loving future. But as life doesn’t usually pan out the way we plan, they didn’t get together back then. Mark ended up a husband and a father and Shanna remained single. But I think the swan was still valid. Foil doesn’t decompose fast, right? The magic was still there. It had just been suppressed or something. So many years later, after a sweet text message to an old friend, the relationship started up again: first as friends, then as best friends, and now as husband and wife. CRAZINESS! Who knew?

I had no idea that encouraging her to invite him to my “going away” celebration baseball game would lead to this. That was only a little over a year ago. A lot can happen in a year. That’s 365 days of trouble (366 in a leap year). 365 days of food and water. 365 days to make or break a relationship. All I have to say to my sister is GOOD JOB, GIRL! And a very sincere congratulations.

A few pix of the event:

Photo #1: The man with the black bag

My dad was the master of garbage gathering. I joked that the black bag was in case Mark backed out at the last minute, but luckily this was only a joke.

Photo #2: Shanna, the little girl.

Shanna looks like a little girl in this photo. She used to make this face when she was little, like when she made chocolate chip cookies with my mom and stuff.

Photo #3: Men at work

I wasn’t sure how this would work. I’ve never been to a BBQ wedding. I thought, what is happening? Why would she want a burger wedding? But it was very Shanna and apparently very Mark & Shanna and so it was amazing.

Photo #4: Signing the “papes”

There is way too much paperwork at a wedding. Our beach and playground weddings as kids were way simpler. Exchange rings. Give a peck on the cheek and you’re married. Why can’t we return to that?

Photo #5: Shanna on a motorcycle

I hadn’t seen it until the day of. It was pretty cool.

Photo #6: Dressing

This is Jayden, my niece. But when Shanna was getting into her dress, we also had to plop her on the bed to zip her in. I loved this part and I got to help a lot too. It was fun.

It looks cool, right? I’m glad you think so. It was a special day.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

