TGIF

Fridays are the bomb. Fridays usually mean that it’s time to celebrate. It’s time to embrace that gnarl thing called the weekend and go with it. When I was in college and grad school, the weekend was the main time I worked. Both at NNU Riley Library and at the Duck Store, I went for weekend shifts because my school schedule was always so hectic. This meant that I had less time to go on weekend trips with friends, sleep in, or just chill and do nothing. Weekends always changed in Ukraine. I went to the disco, out with friends, away on weekend trips, you name it, I did it. These days back in Dayton, things aren’t quite so thrilling. Weekends in August were consumed with wedding prep for my sister Shanna and thus far weekends in September have been used to recuperate after a long week at my blue-collar job. That’s all going to change this weekend. Saturday is Christmas. Wait, what? It’s September. I know this doofus! But my brother and I are having a Christmas movie party and I’m stoked. If I’m really on top of it, I’ll make a batch of Christmas goodies to take with me. If not, I’ll at least take my knitting. It’s time to take charge of the weekends. We’ve only got one life to live. We might as well live it in color and in my case, with Christmas multiple times each year.

Leave a Reply

