What Every NHS Senior Should Know: Serve Popcorn to the Freshmen

Today was day one of the senior project presentations at Nampa High School. It was also day one of me experiencing senior project presentations at any high school. This isn’t a thing we did at Dayton High School. No, we Pirates practiced regular old senioritis when we were preparing to leave our alma mater. We did as little as possible and we liked it that way. (Not entirely true. I was deathly afraid of getting even just one “B” that I worked my tush off for the duration of my time at Dayton.)

So today, during the many long hours I spent at Nampa High School, I had the privilege of watching a total of nine senior project presentations. I enjoyed every second of it. There were students that did less of a good job than I would have liked to do if I were in their places. But in general, the presentations were awesome. I just enjoyed the day.

As the day went on, I enjoyed things more and more. My favorite moment came at the end of the day as I started grading my students’ evaluations they had to fill out for their grade (to prove that they had listened). You see, the seniors had to present in front of our delightful classes of freshmen, sophomores, and juniors. One student who presented to my second freshman class of the day talked about his project selling popcorn during lunch to raise money for field trips for special education students. His presentation was great and his project was amazing. I love it when students take initiative to help others. The thing that made me love this project all the more was how my freshmen students wrote about it.

Their evaluations included questions about how the students could have improved their presentations. One student wrote, “He should have brought us popcorn.” The thing is, I know this isn’t a joke. This kid was one hundred percent serious. He would have enjoyed the presentation more if there had been popcorn. What my student didn’t think about was that if the senior gave away free popcorn to freshmen, he’d have less money for his field trips.

Another question asked if the students believed that the student presenting truly did what he/she said they did. This was the easy for my kids: “Yes. I’ve seen him at lunch.”

Besides that, students wanted to give him suggestions about his project like, “He shouldn’t run out of popcorn.” Obviously, a few of them are his regular customers. Otherwise, one young man wouldn’t have written, “He should spend more time making the popcorn better.” But when you’re buying popcorn for under a dollar, I don’t know if you can be so picky, young freshman. I’m starting to wonder if some of these kids actually eat breakfast. They sure focused on the food a lot.

I was sort of sad when I read through all the evaluations. There were no more comments about popcorn or being hungry to keep me at work. So I went home for the day.

Leave a Reply

