Gingerbread Crafting

I like making gingerbread houses. This isn’t new. It was one of my favorite activities in grade school. My favorite teachers were the ones that planned for us to make gingerbread houses at school. When I was in high school, my best friends and I planned Christmas parties every year. One year, we decorated gingerbread houses and it was awesome. About three years ago, I made my first gingerbread house in about ten years. I called up my friend Abby and asked if she was up for making houses with her kids. She was and we’ve been making them ever since. It’s pretty much the ONE activity I do with her kids. As I don’t have kids of my own, it’s not as if I can take my kids on a play date with hers. Thus, Tia Rece is the crazy gingerbread lady. The other day, I was talking to my sister and I asked if she’d be into making gingerbread houses with her kiddos. Her eyes lit up at the thought. Tonight was the night. We made gingerbread houses with graham crackers, frosting, and a bunch of candy she has in her pantry. It was a hoot. Check it out.

Here’s Shelli trying to get Jayden to decorate her gingerbread house.

gbread - 4

Here’s the house afterward. I’m not sure how or why the roof caved in, but it did.

gbread - 3

And this is what master Spencer was making.

gbread - 5

We used pretzels. Here’s the side of my roof.

gbread - 2

And here’s my full house. Those who know my style, notice that it’s standard Rece, nothing special, though the door IS made of purple licorice.

gbread - 1

Merry Christmas!

Rece

Leave a Reply

