Forget Brew Fests. Go straight to the brewery.

I’m an Oregon girl. In my opinion, one of the great things about Oregon is that we’re the microbrew capital of these United States. Rad, right? Well, a few years ago, when I was still living in Eugene, Oregon, I went to my first brew fest, the KLCC Brew Fest. My parents came down to join me for the evening; they were showing support to KLCC, the public radio station where I volunteered as a news intern for most of grad school. The fest was awesome. We had a lot of fun. But once I moved from Eugene, it became a true challenge to make it back to Eugene for the brew fest. One year, when we had opted not to drive down to Eugene for the fest, I came up with an alternative plan. We decided to go out to Golden Valley Brewery and I would try the sampler. It worked. It was awesome and a whole lot of fun. I think this is a good way to spend a Friday evening.

DIY: Make your own brew fest.

Instructions:

1. Get a friend or two to agree to spend the evening with you.
2. One of you must agree to be responsible and do a soda fest or dessert fest.
3. Go to your local brewery or even a brewery/pub that’s a few towns away where you’ve never been before.
4. Order the sampler.
5. Have a ball.

It’s easy, no?

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

