Super Bowl XLVII: Ravens vs. 49ers!

I’m not exactly an NFL fan. I don’t follow any particular team (though watching this Super Bowl in New Orleans makes me want to devote my future football watching abilities to becoming a New Orleans Saints fan). But yesterday, I was rooting for the San Francisco 49ers. There are many of reasons for this: LaMichael James is a 49er. He was a Duck while I was a grad student at the U of O. I saw him at the Court House when he was in trouble for a domestic dispute with his girlfriend. So it makes sense to root for his team, right. Plus, one of my best friends from Peace Corps is from outside San Francisco. Plus – hello! I’m from Oregon which just so happens to be located on the West Coast and is pretty close to California where San Francisco is located. ☺

The final score of the game was 34-31 Ravens. It was probably good that they won otherwise people would have been speculating for months whether someone from the 49ers side sabotaged the power on their side of the stadium. Did you know that? The power in the Super Dome was out for about a half an hour. It was crazy!

Ok. So truth be told, I didn’t pay close enough attention to the game. I was too distracted by my attempt to do lunges, texting with my family members, and doing photo projects on Shutterfly. I did, however, enjoy a few of the commercials I saw on TV.

Here’s my general response to the commercials. The Godaddy make-out one was gross. The goat Doritos one was just one. The Voodoo one was cool and apparently reminded my brother Shane of me. The Calvin Klein reminded me of my brother Shane. The daddy and friends dressing up as princesses with his daughter reminded me of my other brother, Ben.

I had two favorite commercials. One was the Audi prom one. I mean seriously, even the kid’s younger sister knew he was a loser… until he drove the car and gained his confidence.

The other was the amazing Taco Bell commercial with the old people and fun’s “We Are Young” in Spanish in the background. I mean, for real, you can’t go wrong with this commercial.

Granted, yesterday’s game was not as cool as last year’s attempt to watch the Super Bowl with my friend Morgan, but it was still a good one. I mean, there was even a point when I felt like I was watching hockey. Both teams got a penalty for the almost brawl. It was crazy.

Tata for now.

Rece

2 thoughts on “Super Bowl XLVII: Ravens vs. 49ers!

Leave a Reply

