Some Great Gatsby Entertainment

For the last month and a half, I have devoted a good chunk of my time to teaching The Great Gatsby to juniors at Nampa High School. At the end of this long process, my students had to do a creative project and write an essay. When I talked about the creative project, I showed my kids this video as an example.

I love this rap. It’s adorable. When I was in grad school at the U of O and I showed my friend Sarah, she hated it. She thought it was too geeky. Hmm… I don’t think she knew me that well as I am the epitome of a geek/nerd/strange person.

Anyway, some of my students got really excited about making a video and putting it on youtube. Here’s one of the projects. Please note that these students placed this video on the world wide web on their own. I’m just sharing something from the public domain.

My favorite part of the video has to be the car part. Not only does my student run out into the road with his sock puppet but the other student runs the sock over with his car. The second car was apparently not a part of the plan, but it still left sock Myrtle really messed up. I appreciate this video, a whole lot. It’s bound to get at least 30 views, 16 of them from me.

Leave a Reply

