My Oscar Picks for 2013

It’s almost Oscar night. By almost, I mean that in six evenings, it will in fact be time to put on some make-up, pack up some goodies, and head to an Oscar party. I love this event. I look forward to it every year. I try to watch the movies that are on the ballot, but I usually don’t make it through all of them. That is course what is happening now. I haven’t made it through all of the movies. I still need to see Flight, Zero Dark Thirty, Argo, and The Hobbit. There are more I need to see like Django Unchained, but even though I have a free ticket to go watch a movie this week, I’ll probably go watch Identity Thief. It just looks hilarious and I had to deal with some identity theft a few years ago. Plus, it will probably make me laugh more than the awesome movies I listed above. Eh. I still need to do my Oscar homework. So for now, here’s the gist of who I think is going to win. Be prepared for a bit of commentary and I think this, but I vote this way in this post. And the Oscar goes to…

Best Picture:
Les Miserables

Les Mis really is a fabulous movie. I went to see it a few weeks ago and it made me cry on several occasions. I think it’s going to win because it’s so awesome. But in reality I want Silver Linings Playbook to win because I loved this film and I think it was ingenious. It probably won’t win though as Les Mis is just such a classic tale that it will trump the real winner with its immensity.

Best Actor:
Hugh Jackman for Les Miserables

He sings. You don’t really expect Wolverine to sing. But he does. And he does it well. He is going to win this award. I think a close second will be Daniel Day-Lewis for Lincoln because he was completely awesome in that role, but I still think Jackman will take home the trophy and he’s going to thank his wife again just like he did at the Golden Globes. My actual favorite is Bradley Cooper in Silver Linings Playbook. He’s amazing in that role and it’s the movie I would pick as Best Picture if I didn’t know about Hollywood politics, but I read Entertainment Weekly so I know too much…

Best Actress:
Jennifer Lawrence for Silver Linings Playbook

She needs to win this one. She won the Golden Globe for it and she deserved it. She is an incredibly talented actress and her character in Silver Linings Playbook is so raw, she deserves the trophy. An upset would be if Jessica Chastain won for Zero Dark Thirty. I’ve heard she was really good in this role but as I said before, I haven’t read it yet. Ben Affleck would vote for Quvenzhane Wallis from Beasts of the Southern Wild. I wouldn’t. I thought she was adorable, but I went to see this movie with my brother’s partner who is a complete genius and he was confused by the film so I don’t think she should win. She was cute. Her character was very raw, but the film was a little too Sundance to win the Oscar.

Best Director:
David O. Russell for Silver Linings Playbook

It’s no surprise that I love this film. Thus, I will vote for it every time. Spielberg may win for Lincoln, but I think Hollywood might have caught on to the truth of Silver Linings Playbook: we’re all a little crazy.

Supporting Actor:
Tommy Lee Jones for Lincoln

I could have voted for Robert De Niro to keep up my love for the Playbook movie, but I’m going with Tommy Lee Jones. He was amazing in his role in Lincoln. I cried when he took home the document to his lady. I don’t want to spoil it, but it was amazing. Not often do I get chills for Tommy Lee Jones, but I certainly felt proud to be an American when I watched this film.

Supporting Actress:
Anne Hathaway for Les Miserables

She won the Golden Globe. She’s the one who kinda stands out on my ballot. She deserves it.

Documentary Feature:
The Invisible War

This is when I start guessing because I haven’t seen any of the documentaries yet. Shame on me.

Documentary Short:
Mondays at Racine

I like the name. I haven’t seen any of these either.

Foreign Language Film:
Armour – Austria

This one was nominated for Best Picture too. I feel like it’s a no-brainer. If it doesn’t win, there’s got to be something wrong with the system.

Animated Feature:
ParaNorman

I think Brave may actually win, but I want ParaNorman to win because the studio that produced it is in Hillsboro, Oregon. Plus, I absolutely love this movie!

Cinematography:
Lincoln

This was a great film. It deserves a few wins.

Makeup and Hairstyling:
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

As you know, I haven’t seen it yet but anyone who can make hobbit feet deserves an award.

Production Design:
Les Miserables

The sets looked pretty dirty. I almost thought I was going to catch the plague and die during the three hours I was in the theater. It was pretty real.

Original Screenplay:
Quentin Tarantino for Django Unchained

QT needs this one.

Adapted Screenplay:
David O. Russell for Silver Linings Playbook

See my notes for Best Picture, Actor, Actress, and Director if you don’t understand my choice.

Animated Short Film:
Maggie Simpson in “The Longest Daycare”

The Simpsons were created in Oregon. I haven’t seen any of the films in this category. So Maggie wins.

Live Action Short Film:
Henry

It’s a guys’ name. That’s why I picked it.

Visual Effects:
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

It’s The Hobbit. I know it’s going to be awesome even without seeing it.

Costume Design:
Les Miserables

Like Production Design, I thought Les Mis should win because the costumes were so dirty and probably smelly. It fit the movie quite well.

Film Editing:
Lincoln

It needs a few awards.

Sound Mixing:
Les Miserables

It’s going to win Best Picture. It needs something to go with that.

Sound Editing:
Life of Pi

I’ve heard this is a good book and a good movie. It needs at least one award.

Original Score:
Life of Pi

See comment in Sound Editing. If it wins at least one of the two, I’ll have gotten one of them right.

Original Song:
“Skyfall,” music and lyrics by Adele and Paul Epworth from the movie Skyfall

It’s a great song. It killed on iTunes. It’s going to win.

So that’s it. You have my Oscar Picks. How many will I get right? I’m shooting for at least 18 out of 24 for the win!

See you Sunday, February 24th at 7 PM Eastern Time on ABC.

Leave a Reply

