Two – What Do You Do With a BA in English?

What do you do with a BA in English? This is something that has plagued me since I graduated. In college, the English teachers lied to us: “You’re majoring in English? You can do ANYTHING with that.” Anything… or nothing? Who knows? Because for some of us it varies. I’ve had jobs where my English degree (and my high school diploma) means diddly-squat. But I’ve also traveled to far places and taught a number of students how to speak and understand our American English and culture. So I suppose with an English major, you can do anything. Though I never felt the need to become a missionary in Africa like the counselor at my university suggested when I told her I was an English major. Instead, I told people on numerous occasions that, “No, I’m not planning on using my degree to teach English” and then I’d lie and go be an awesome teacher anyway. It’s just one of those things I guess.

Here’s the song, “What Do You Do With a BA in English” from the musical Avenue Q. Please note that this song is a bit of a “mass-up” so I’m only talking about time 0:00 to 1:07. Though if you want, please listen to the whole thing. It’s yet another great song about twenty-somethings. Less than a month to go and I suddenly have to be a responsible thirty-something. That’ll be a hoot! Enjoy the song.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

