Thirteen – You’ve gone through several “generations” of music.

It threw me off when I was in high school and the millennium hit. Radio stations started playing “90s” music rather than “what’s hot today,” because suddenly the 90s were history and the “current” beats were getting cheesier. This was of course caused because the new sensations in the musical industry were either birthed from YouTube videos or they were finalists on American Idol. The music industry changed. Now we’re all forced to consume the new waves of music.

But unfortunately, I am not with the times. In fact, my musical interests throw me back several decades rather than helping me relate to today’s teenagers. When I was giving an introduction to The Great Gatsby to my juniors in January, I talked about jazz music and Louis Armstrong. At first, I didn’t have a picture. This was trouble, because unless his name is the same as a famous candy, kids today won’t know musical icons.

I suppose that one day my kids will be able to read about Britney Spears and Justin Timberlake. But I sort of home this isn’t true. I wish these two celebrities could have been one-hit wonders, because quite frankly, should my kids ever talk about how the music of “my generation” sucked, I’d have to agree with them.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

