Growth: The Beauty of “Age”

When you were a kid, did your mom or dad mark your height on the back of your bedroom door? Mine didn’t. But a few of my teacher’s did this in grade school. They mark your height on the first day of school and again on the last day of school to see how much you grew over the year. It could just represent actually inches and centimeters, but I think it also represents growth in knowledge and awesomeness. I don’t have any kids of my own so all bedroom doors in my house are clear of pencil marks, but I did just plant a small terrarium of basil and parsley. I’ve been watering it and have set it in the window where the sun shines through most brightly. And just the other day, I saw some green. It’s so exciting and awesome. It’s cool to see the fruits (or herbs) of my labor. I’m testing myself. I want to prove that I can in fact nurture something. I mean, I’m a great aunt and all, but I tend to be the fun one who bends the rules a bit. So at least if I can grow a little basil, I’ll know that I have the “smart nurturer” gene. (Wink.)

This is my terrarium baby.

This is my terrarium baby.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

