Gimme More of The Mortal Instruments!

While I was teaching at Nampa High School this past winter, a student came up to me and started bragging about the awesomeness of the books he was reading. He claimed that they were the best things he’d ever read and that he was reading them during every class he had that day. I asked him the name of them and he told me the first one was called City of Bones. They were part of a trilogy and he wanted to go down to the library to check out the second one. Despite the fact that he was a busy junior boy with wrestling practice and tons of homework, he was done with the trilogy within a few days. He insisted that I read it. I saw that my sister had the books and took one off her shelf. I noted that the series was The Mortal Instruments Trilogy, a title she’d told me about after I’d read the Hunger Games Trilogy. But my schedule was busy and I never cracked the book open.

But then I got a text from my one of my closest friends. She loved the books and wanted me to read the first one. I said, sure and she dropped it off when my dad was home, saying, “It’s a lot better than the Twilight books.”

Abby, it isn’t even in the same league as the Twilight books; it is so much better.

City of Bones is a book about a teenage girl who discovers her true self. This tale by Cassandra Clare introduces a world of demons, vampires, werewolves, and warlocks in a story unique from so many others. This supernatural world is intertwined with the world of our heroine who discovers that she is the daughter of Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to destroying demons and keeping other supernatural creatures living in harmony with the mundane humans. It’s a tale of a journey for truth in which the beloved heroes discover that those they have trusted with their lives have often been the ones who have betrayed their trust.

When I started this book, I couldn’t put it down. Page after page, I kept reading, wanting to see how the story would unfold. I can’t wait to pick up City of Ashes to see how the story continues.

This book gets five stars from me. (I rate books out of five stars so this is pretty much the perfect rating meaning… I LOVED IT!)

And before I go, you might also want to know that they’ve turned City of Bones into a movie. I’ve seen the preview and it looks great. I can’t wait to see it when it hits theaters on August 23rd. You might as well check it out as well.

Tata for now.

Rece

2 thoughts on “Gimme More of The Mortal Instruments!

Leave a Reply

