Banana Bread

Nobody likes brown bananas. I take that back, some people like brown bananas, but those people are pretty much as insane as they come. Or then again, maybe they just don’t have teeth so they have to mush the bananas down their throat with their tired gums. Well, I still have my teeth so I don’t eat brown bananas. I do, however, make plenty of banana bread. When the house is too hot, the bananas turn brown faster than we eat them. We might as well buy one at a time.

The other day, my mom gave me a bag with five brown bananas. She mentioned that I might want to make some banana bread. Huh, I thought, she liked that chocolate chip banana bread I made last week. It was true. She liked my bread and she wanted more of it.

So last night, while I was packing for my road trip, I took fifty minutes out of my schedule to make some banana bread. Some of the bananas weren’t mushy enough so I had to mash them with a potato masher (which I should have done a little bit more of because there were actually pieces of banana in the baked bread but oh well). I had some for breakfast. It was good.

And because I’m such a nice person and because it’s Friday, I’m going to share the recipe for Spicy Banana Bread with you.

Stuff you need:
• 1 1/3 cup sugar
• ½ cup butter
• 2 bananas (brown as mentioned above)
• 1/3 cup water
• 1 teaspoon vanilla
• 2 eggs
• 1 ½ cups flour
• 1 teaspoon baking soda
• 1 teaspoon salt
• 1 teaspoon cinnamon
• ½ teaspoon cloves
• ¼ teaspoon baking powder.

Now if you’re an experienced baker, you may know that you’re supposed to do this: Mix the first six ingredients together until smooth. Combine the last six dry ingredients together in a separate bowl and then add to the creamy mixture, stirring until it’s all smooth and ready for the oven. Grease your loaf pan. Put the batter in. Place in already preheated oven for 45 minutes at 350 degrees.

So if you like tasty banana bread and you happen to have two brown bananas gathering fruit flies in your kitchen, I challenge you to make some this weekend. Have fun.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

