Is April 15th America’s “anti-holiday?”

No way! April 15th is my birthday. Granted, when I was a kid, my mom always dragged her feet when my birthday was coming around. She rarely had her taxes done in time. And when I was in college and my sister Shelli and I were celebrating my birthday with my sister Shanna, she made us wait around for a while she finished her taxes and drove the paperwork into Boise so it was filed on time. I happen to like April 15th and I also am way too poor to ever have to pay any taxes so I file my paperwork in February so when April comes around, I just get to party.

But because I know some people aren’t as enlightened as me, I want to share some of the quotes Devin Kelly shared in his LA Times article:

Supreme Court Chief Justice John Marshall: “The power to tax involves the power to destroy.”

Supreme Court Justice Liver Wendell Holmes Jr.: “Taxes are what we pay for a civilized society.”

Taxes are what pay for our road and highways, our schools, our police officers and legislators and all that jazz. Plus, if you’ve ever watched Meet Joe Black, you’d know that there are only two sure things in life: death and taxes. So pay up and shut up. (hehehe)

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

