Happy Birthday, Will!

Today is the great Bard’s birthday. Wait, what? You didn’t know that William Shakespeare was known as the Bard. Too bad for you! Now you know.

So anyway, today is this guys’ birthday. So I figured I’d pay homage to him by writing a post about him.

Now, we’ve all read Romeo & Juliet and many people hate that play (including me) so why do we love and revere Shakespeare? Because the man was a genius with the English language. He made rules that he later broke. He made up words constantly and he pushed the sensitive buttons of society to make people squirm in their seats and pray for his salvation. The guy rocked.

I like Shakespeare because he wrote plays. His plays are so diverting that centuries after they were written, I can go to parks around the world and watch people act them out while I eat a picnic with friends. Here in Yamhill County, we have Willamette Shakespeare. Every summer, I join my friends at Stoller Vineyard for whatever show they’re putting on that year. I’m excited for this year’s production. It’s going to be Romeo & Juliet. I hope they set it in a different time frame than normal; I love it when they do that.

But back to our boy Shakespeare. Let’s do an Acrostic Poem for the old dead guy.

Words were his thing.
I think a lot of people dislike Shakespeare.
Little do they know that you can force yourself into a word affair with Shakespeare.
Literature classes aren’t complete without a little Shakespeare thrown in.
I like the comedies best.
August brings Willamette Shakespeare to the vineyard on the hill.
Mary Deibel introduced me to Shakespeare in 9th grade with Romeo & Juliet.

Scholars question whether he really wrote the plays or not.
How come I can’t get away with making up words like he did?
Anonymous was a pretty good movie.
King, I mean Queen Elizabeth loved a good Shakespeare play.
Every high school freshman has to read Romeo & Juliet as a right of passage.
Stratford-Upon-Avon = the birthplace of this legend
Pretty much everyone has at least heard of the old Bard.
Each comedy has a wedding or two.
Average people know a line from the balcony scene.
Really nerdy people can quote monologues from Macbeth.
Elizabethan English resonates clearly in the scripts.

To thine own self be true.

Rece

Leave a Reply

