Practice what you preach.

You may not know this, but I work in a lawn and garden part of my local big box store. I started working there a month ago to avoid working as a temp in a factory for the next five months. When I started, I knew very little about gardening and lawn care. What I did know, I knew because my father had forced us to do yard work on Saturdays when we were kids. I hated this: our one day off without school or church and our dad wanted us to work outside.

Now that I work with plants and soil all day at work, I have a crazy desire to do some yard work myself. Granted, my desire to read, write, and make creative things usually trumps yard work, but today, I threw in a little bit of yard work with the others.

Here’s a picture of what I did.

lavender

In reality, it’s not too impressive, but because I haven’t done this in a while, I’m impressed with myself. Yesterday, I bought a lavender plant and a bag of soil and today I planted the lavender in my dad’s old whiskey barrel. Cool, right?

Now why did I choose lavender? Good question. I picked lavender for several reasons.
1. I like the smell.
2. It’s purple.
3. When I visited Randle, WA last September, I saw a huge patch of lavender and decided that I would some day grow some.
4. It came in a purple planter pot that I plan to use for an upcoming project.
5. If I learn to grow lavender well, I can make sachets of lavender in the future.

I think it’s important to practice what we preach. Since I usually give people planting advice all day based on information I’ve learned online and from plant tags, I think it’s important to switch it up a bit with some practical information from my own personal experience. That way, I won’t be so much of a poser in the lawn and garden department.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

