Book Love: The Fault in Our Stars

I didn’t cry when I read it. I laughed a few times. I smiled a lot. I just didn’t think it was a crying book; it was too hopeful for that.

The Fault in Our Stars is a not a cancer book. It’s not really about cancer nor is it just about kids with cancer, but it’s a book about kids learning how to live their lives to the fullest. Sure, the two main characters both have cancer and they take medicine and one of them dies in the end, but the book is not a depressing book about cancer. Instead, it was a thinking book, a challenging book, an inspirational book. It was the kind of book that makes you ask yourself: am I being positive today? Am I living my life to the fullest? Am I a Debbie Downer these days?

I think the thing we’re supposed to take from this book is that we only have so much time on this earth. We really need to be positive. We need to enjoy life. We can’t be afraid about the next step nor can we hold ourselves back. We need to take chances, fail, succeed, screw-up, learn from our mistakes, and drink sweet tea. (I know. The sweet tea thing came out of nowhere, but some of us are so worried about drinking our sugars that we avoid the awesomeness that is sweet tea and I think we should rethink this decision.)

Life is about living. Death will come. It always does. So we need to live.

The Fault in Our Stars is an amazing read. I see now why my friend Leslie has her freshman students read it in the spring. I see also why John Green has become one of the most influential American writers of this day and age. If you’re looking for a great read, stop by your local independent bookstore and pick up a copy. Then leave me a comment so I know how you liked it.

Tata for now.

Rece

One thought on “Book Love: The Fault in Our Stars

Leave a Reply

