Who Are My Boys? A Discussion of Music

The other day I realized something a little crazy: I don’t know my favorite genre of music. Telling people that my interests are eclectic only goes so far, at some point I need to figure out the name for it and tell people. Recently, I’ve been telling people that I love jazz. They respond excitedly with a bunch of names of musicians and clubs I have never heard of. Then I have to rephrase my statement and say that I go for the old stuff, that I like Sinatra and Dean Martin, basically the whole Rat Pack and any of the music that has followed their style. Well, the other day my father informed me that Sinatra wasn’t jazz. Sinatra was classic music. I corrected him. Classic is something totally different. He agreed, but he didn’t know what to think of it. I grabbed my iPhone and googled: “What genre is Frank Sinatra?” I was directed to ask.com and yahoo answers. People said that he was big band, swing, easy-listening, jazz, and lounge.

I love the idea of him being big band or swing, but I don’t think that helps encompass his followers like Harry Connick Jr., Michael Buble, and Seth MacFarlane. The one that actually encompasses all of them is… (drum roll please): LOUNGE.

I love lounge music. I do! That’s one of the reasons I’m so obsessed with some of the 40s music I grew up hearing.

Plus, when I was college and I was talking to my roommate Doni about my career goals, I told her that I wanted to be a writer. And if I didn’t make it as a writer my plan was to be a lounge singer. Well, I just turned thirty. If I haven’t published my book by the age of forty, I have a new plan: head to the city and become a lounge singer, as long as they have one of those old-school silver microphones.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

