Why I’m starting to appreciate taxidermy…

I judge people who have dead animals on their walls. The fact that BOTH of my brothers have dead animals hanging in their homes completely creeps me out. Our mother never allowed our father to have dead animals handing on the wall. But to be fair, I don’t really know how many deer my dad ever killed; he was in the army. His sharp-shooter skills were reserved for shooting at other people… sort of. He wasn’t an assassin, just a guy in a uniform. But in general, I don’t like animal heads as decorations. One of my high school friends likes to hang out in a bar called The Old Oak in downtown McMinnville. There’s a moose head here and a stuffed pelican. It weirds me out every time. But after commenting on each at least twice, I shut up, take a picture and drink my beer. But after reading Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, I’m starting to think I need to invest in a genuine stuffed animal. Granted, purchasing a stuffed animal before getting married might reduce the chance of actually getting married, but if I stick around the redneck counties of Oregon, I just might find me a man wearing Carharts for this task.

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened is a memoir full of hilarity, self-deprecating wit, and awkward encounters with others. It’s right up my alley. I saw it in Target for months before I actually bought the audio book on Audible. It was the hamster on the front that got to me. He was too cute for words and when the adorable hamster finally made it into the book (near the end of course), I was already mentally best friends with the author. Jenny Lawson is not like the Texans I imagine. I’ve never been to Texas but like most ignorant prejudice people, I have negative feelings towards Texans because of the stereotypes I’ve adopted. One of my best friends from high school moved to Texas a few years ago; she hated it. She actually moved to Belgium to live with her sister after a few years of torture in that red state. But Jenny seems like a fun, normal, quite awesome chick from Texas. Granted, in her memoir she claims to not be into wine, but I figure friends always fight about at least one thing, not that we’re friends, but if we were friends, she might think I’m weird for drinking wine but I could always throw back that she locked her husband out of the car to be eaten by a rattlesnake. That was SO uncool, by the way. I imagine that I would do something similar as I scream when I see little spiders and garter snakes. I can’t imagine what I’d be like if I encountered a rattlesnake. I’d probably faint and then it would bite me and I would be dead.

If you’re a fan of this blog (as in my blog, the one you are reading) or of Tina Fey, David Sedaris, Lauire Notaro, or perhaps Mindy Kaling’s book (I’m still not sure if I like her new show), you would enjoy this book. It’s at Target and on Amazon and you can get the audio that is read by the author and is quite awesome. If I were you, I’d do it. It’s SO worth it. And it will make you laugh. Also, you may want to check out Jenny Lawson’s website, because she’s an awesome blogger… and she has chicken sketches that will make sense once you get to the end of the book.

Tata for now.

Rece

Note to readers: I know that technically this book qualifies as entertainment which would actually make it a perfect Tuesday post, but it’s also got a whole beginning bit which is about me and my neurotic family (of which there are two brothers who have dead animals mounted on their walls) so I’m calling it one of Rece’s life anecdotes, thus it is being posted today, Saturday.

2 thoughts on “Why I’m starting to appreciate taxidermy…

Leave a Reply

