I’m such a Goonie!

“Goonies never say die!” I may not have grown up in Astoria, Oregon, but I am a full-blooded Goonie. Ever since I watched the movie in the early 1990s (I could have been in the room when my family watched it after it came out in 1985, but I would have been two years-old so no, I don’t remember it from those days), I have loved this movie. Not only is it full of the kind of action and adventure I love, but it also has pirates, treasure, and the Pacific Ocean as seen from my home state of Oregon.

Screen Shot 2013-06-04 at 9.10.16 AM

I was still a little girl when I really got into Goonies. I had a plan that I was going to marry Mikey and that my friends and my sister Shelli could split the other guys however they wanted, as long as I got Mikey and his braces. There’s something awesome about his character and the way he never gives up. He’s small but he’s determined to save his family and friends and for this, I love him.

Because of the Goonies, I have always dreamed of living in Astoria. It’s one of those dream places I fantasize about, knowing that life will be good there. Who knows, maybe someday I will live there.

The Goonies is just what I said it is, an action-adventure story with pirates and treasure. It all starts when Mikey and his friends figure out that the rich peeps in Astoria are trying to buy up their land to build a golf course and basically butcher the coastline. (This has happened all across Oregon’s Coast so it’s really not that far off from the truth.) Mikey goes up into his parent’s attic and discovers a map for buried treasure and he and his friends take off in search of Chester Copperpot, the guy known for searching for One-Eyed Willy’s Rich Stuff. And so the story goes. Their small group gets bigger as Mikey’s big brother and his friends join in. It’s a fabulous movie and it never gets old.

Screen Shot 2013-06-04 at 9.09.41 AM

My sister Shanna and I heard about a twenty-year anniversary in 2005. We drove to Astoria with our parents to watch the movie and do the Truffle Shuffle on the way in. I wouldn’t pull up my shirt for the Truffle Shuffle, there was way too much to be shuffled and no one really wanted to see that! Corey Feldman was there. I’m pretty sure he was drunk or high when he went to speak in front of everyone. That was weird, but fitting for this eighties child star.

When I meet new people who live on the east coast or even the mid-west, they don’t always know a lot about Oregon. Now, people watch Portlandia and see that bit of our awesomeness, but sometimes people just think Oregonians are hippies who recycle. We are so much more and The Goonies proves this. My high school civics teacher grew up in Astoria and he was in one of the monster trucks on the beach in the opening scene. Yeah, pretty cool.

So you see, not only is Goonies awesome, but it’s also so Oregon. Our state motto is, “she flies with her own wings.” We are independent. We are Goonies. And we don’t die. We don’t give in. We resolve to be ourselves and to fight to the end. And for that reason, we are infinite. (I totally stole this idea of being infinite from The Perks of Being a Wallflower, but I love it so thanks author Chbosky for the words.)

If you have never watched it, I suggest you rent a VCR and get a VHS tape to kick it old school and watch The Goonies in style.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

