Twinkie pulled a Tom Sawyer on us. He’s back!

Do you remember Tom Sawyer? You should. He’s the kid who attended his own funeral. He was the fantastic hero from the great American author Mark Twain. Tom was an adventurous trickster who hung out with the unconventional Huckleberry Finn. If Tom Sawyer were a food item, he would be a Twinkie, because both had funerals and hung out to see who showed up and how much they were missed.

In case you didn’t know, Twinkie died last fall. It was a very sad fall for everyone. I found out on Facebook and drove to Fred Meyer in Nampa (where I was living at the time) to pick up some Twinkies for my family’s Thanksgiving celebration. I had missed the raid; there were no Twinkies left. But Twinkies are making it back to the shelves on July 15th. After a quick “bing” search (I switched to Bing a few months ago just to strike out against the googliness of Google.), I found all I needed to know: it was happening. Twinkies were back. Only one headline was original.

I found out about the "sweet comeback" on facebook.

I found out about the “sweet comeback” on facebook.

Twinkie Drought Ends on July 15

The rest had derivations from the Press-Release from Hostess themselves.

Twinkies Set to Make Sweetest Comeback

Twinkies To Return To Shelves July 15, Hostess Says

Perhaps the news people aren’t jumping on this because they know that Twinkies are in fact, bad for you. But ever since I read about their demise in November, I have been wanting to eat one. It’s sort of similar to my newfound love of Skittles. I’ve always liked Skittles, but I was always more of a chocolate girl. Then I discovered Skittles’ Twitter feed (It’s awesome; trust me.) and I have had a jar full of Skittles, that I have repeatedly refilled, ever since.

I think Twinkie is a genius. He wasn’t ever really gone. He was just checking out how many people showed up at his funeral. I knew he’d come running back, just like Tom Sawyer did.

See you at the grocery store July 15th.

Tata for now.

Rece

2 thoughts on “Twinkie pulled a Tom Sawyer on us. He’s back!

  1. Pingback: Five Bites of News for this Monday Eve | Peanut Butter Girl

  2. Pingback: PBG’s 2013 in Review | Peanut Butter Girl

Leave a Reply

