Life in the Retail Industry

I never thought of it before, but now that I’m working in retail, I realize that weekends don’t really exist. A weekend is just an artificial pair of days society has created to allow for work recovery. It works fine for businessmen, teachers, lawyers, students, and bank tellers, but it doesn’t work in the retail world. When those lawyers, students, teachers, and bank tellers have days off, what do they do? They go shopping. They go to The Gap, Macy’s, Famous Footwear, you name it – they go there. And since people are going to stores, someone has to work at the stores. It’s just common sense. So people like me work every weekend, helping customers find what they need and filling shelves of the product people purchased. Yesterday was my Friday. It was actually Tuesday, but it was the last day I had to work before my two-day break. To celebrate, I sang the song, Friday, a ballad sung best by Stephen Colbert on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon.

Today is actually hump day, that bum day in the middle of the work week when people are exhausted and start counting down to the real Friday and thus, the start of their weekend. But for me, it’s Saturday. I got to sleep in, eat popcorn for breakfast, and gear up for a short-term adventure to a coffee shop and a list chores to complete before my evening plans.

So you see, my friends. Hump day is relative. I hope to one day return to normalcy when a Tuesday is actually a Tuesday and a Friday is in fact, the beginning of my weekend, but for now, I’ll just take every Friday as it comes, even if for me, it’s a Monday.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

