Field Naps

the cloudsI used to lie in my dad’s field and stare at the sky. This was safe in my dad’s field because he was always working at his office job. We didn’t have tractors in our field unless it was hay cutting time, which was pretty much the worst time of the year. The rest of the year was nice though and on sunny summer days, I would escape from my siblings and go into the field where I would daydream. The best part was staring at the clouds. They were so white and fluffy that I imagined they were giant pieces of cotton that I could jump on if I were able to fly. Some days, when the clouds were less sparse, I would make shapes out of them, imagining turtles and dogs and sometimes fish.

the grassI never got bothered by the grass on my skin. In fact, it was refreshing. I felt like I could melt into the earth with the grass. I didn’t worry about the bugs or the dirt underneath me. I just relaxed and enjoyed nature.

It’s been a while since I allowed myself the luxury of kicking back and staring at the sky. I did it today for a little while. It wasn’t as natural as it once was. I’ve gotten too busy, too goal-oriented that I can’t “waste” my time doing things that aren’t on my various lists. It’s time to change that, to save an open spot on the list for spontaneous breaks in the grass because sky staring is seriously one of the best things to do on a sunny yet cloudy day.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

