Wishes, Dreams, and Dancing

This past weekend, I went with my parents, my sister and her husband, and two of my nieces to watch one of my other nieces in a ballet performance. I didn’t know much about the show before we went, but I was ready for anything. My sister actually called me the day before to give me a heads up/synopsis of the show. I didn’t listen closely because she told me the kids had shiny costumes. It didn’t matter about the rest of the show because I was going just to watch Ayla.

The show was amazing, so much more than I thought it would be. Maddie and Margaret were sitting next to me for the first half of the show. During the third dance performance, when the ladies danced to Michael Jackson’s thriller, Maddie leaned over and told me, “This is awesome.” A few songs later, “Let’s Go Fly a Kite” came on and she leaned over to look at my dad. That’s when she first started to ask if she could go sit next to him. Note about children: if you give them an inch, they take a mile. I could have forced her to sit by me the whole time because that’s the seat she chose, but I let her switch around. I don’t want to force myself to be the cool aunt. I had thought that was just a given.

Margaret was sitting to my right, on my sister Shanna’s lap. When Ice, Ice Baby started to play, I busted up laughing, especially since the girls in that dance had PERFECT moves. I was sold on the show long before intermission. But a few songs before the big break, little girls danced to the song, “When You Wish Upon a Star.” You know this song, right? It’s from Pinnochio, that Disney movie about the marionette that comes to life to become a “real boy.”

Maddie must not have ever seen the movie or heard the song, because during this song, she sat on the edge of her seat and then at the end when she heard the words, “When you wish upon a star your dreams come true,” she turned to me and asked, “it really does?” And I answered with a strong affirmative nod.

I do believe this. When you wish for something so much and you make a wish, you set that faith and ability to work hard into action and you do accomplish your dreams. I don’t want Maddie to think that one wish will make things come true. If she asks me about this, I’ll explain, but I do think it’s important for her to believe in that bright future that hard work and faith in opportunity can bring.

I think we all could use a little more faith and optimism in our lives, including me. Sure I say sweet things about my amazing nieces and occasionally write a nice post about a beloved friend or family member, but most of the time, I get caught up in the hustle and bustle. We’ve got to stop, smell the roses, watch a dance recital, and drink a cup of coffee in a normal coffee mug once in a while. If we don’t, we’ll forget about the possibilities we have in front of us and drown in our routine lives.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

