When Your Bucket List Has a Due Date: Thoughts on Seeking A Friend For the End of the World

You have three weeks left on earth. What do you do? Me? I’d charge up a fortune on my credit card taking road trips all around the Pacific Northwest. I’d definitely go to Pike’s Place in Seattle, drink some tea, and read Persuasion one last time. Would I go crazy and party a bunch? Um. Not sure. Probably not. Though I could imagine turning my road trip into a beer pilgrimage to find all the best microbrews on the West Coast.

In the movie Seeking a Friend For the End of the World, Dodge (Steve Carell) is left with just a month left to live. He’s not alone in this. The entire world is going down thanks to an asteroid named Matilda. He’s been playing it safe his entire life: he sold insurance, married someone so he wouldn’t have to die alone, and he even refused the crazy drugs people were passing around at their end of the world party at his friends’ house. He’s a safe guy. Then he meets Penny (Keira Knightley), his neighbor who just dumped her boyfriend Owen and desperately wants to go home to see her family. The two of them set off on a quest to find their true happiness: Penny to go home and Dodge to find the girl who got away.

My brother Shane was the first person who told me about this movie. He wanted my sister Shelli and I to watch it and call him afterwards. I watched it alone so I wasn’t able to see her reaction to the end. Spoiler alert: the world ends. But I was expecting a bit more of a strange Buffyesque huge hole in the ground as if we’re all going to fold into hell sort of end to the movie, but it ended in bright light, just like you imagine a happy ending should.

Even if this happy ending was in truth an ending rather than the beginning of something promising, I loved it completely. Really – I gave this movie five stars without even blinking. There are many reasons for this but here are a few:
1. Steve Carell is amazing. Sure he played the crazy Michael Scott so well that we all though the actor was also insane. But in his movies, Carell proves himself to be a true actor. He was great in Dan in Real Life and he’s one of the reasons we all love Crazy, Stupid, Love. He plays characters that are so raw and so incredibly un-Michael Scott-like.
2. Adam Brody plays the boyfriend Owen. He’s so pathetic and I love him for this.
3. Dodge tries to off himself by downing the generic brand of Windex. He lives.
4. Keira Knightley’s one outfit is awesome. She has a pinkish Urban Outfitter type dress, a worn Army jacket, and a pair of Converse. I love this outfit though I don’t think I could wear it and look as good as that British chick. Oh well.
5. It’s a great movie that doesn’t turn out to have a cliché ending. I can honestly say that I rarely see a movie that ends this way, unless it’s a war movie or a film based on the true life story of someone who died. This ending was refreshing.
6. This line from Penny: “I should warn you – my dad’s ex-military and he says that I have a real serious problem with authority.”
7. A tabloid had something about the best of humanity and the pictures featured were Jesus and Oprah. LOL!
8. Elsa, the housecleaner, didn’t worry about the end of times and just kept going on with her life.
9. Penny had a “Keep Calm And Carry On” sign in her apartment.

I could keep going for a while, but you get the gist. This movie was fantastic. It’s totally worth the time it takes to watch it again and again.

Tata for now.

Rece

One thought on “When Your Bucket List Has a Due Date: Thoughts on Seeking A Friend For the End of the World

Leave a Reply

