I loved Much Ado About Nothing. Thanks, @JossWhedon. (And Shakespeare, of course.)

I love Shakespeare. I first fell in love with his words when I was a high schooler. We’d read Romeo & Juliet as freshman, but I wasn’t really into the play; I was more into writing notes with my friends during English class. I really got into Shakespearean language when I was a sophomore and Mr. Suek got us into reading Othello. He could tell that at first, the language was a bit confusing for we farm kids. So he brought in SparkNotes and got us to read the language and interpret what it means. We discussed racism and gender equality, those issues which became HUGE causes I cared about from then on. Later that school year, my sister Shelli and I drove up to Tigard to watch A Midsummer Night’s Dream. We knew that it was supposed to have comedy and romance, something we sought after in a good film and we weren’t disappointed. After that film, I haven’t been able to forget about my love of Shakespeare. I still mark his birthday in my calendar every year and I attend local outdoor Shakespeare productions as often as I can.

When I heard about Joss Whedon’s production of Much Ado About Nothing, I knew I wanted to see it. There were various times when I was planning to go, but didn’t until the day when I finally drove out to Bridgeport Village and just had to stay for a showing of Shakespeare’s classic. I was not disappointed.

In Joss Whedon’s adaptation of Much Ado, we are introduced to the characters we love in a beautiful mansion. The set is divine. It’s actually Joss Whedon’s house. He filmed the movie in 12 days and he did it all in his amazing palace. When he went on Jimmy Fallon, Whedon talked about how when he and his friends get together, they read Shakespeare and that’s sort of how this movie was born. I love this. It’s totally something my sister Shelli would do with her friends; I actually don’t have friends that would do this with me, bummer.

So you get that I like Shakespeare, but why do I like THIS VERSION so much? Screen Shot 2013-07-15 at 8.49.05 PMBecause it’s amazing. First of all, the set is beautiful and is artistically shown in black and white. I love the black and white; it’s amazing. The characters are basically drunk the entire time from having too much wine at their crazy party, which is really actually what you can imagine for this play. They’re celebrating the arrival of a prince and his friends, so of course, they party hard. Beatrice and Benedick steal the show away, just as they should. They are an amazing match and you almost really believe that these actors are these beloved characters.

The script itself is a winner. If you haven’t read or watched Much Ado previously, it’s a tale about a group of people in Messina in Sicily (thus the large quantities of wine) who gather together to party and fall in love and basically have a good time for a weekend. There’s a villain (Prince John) and a stupid constable who makes the audience laugh. Nathan Fillion plays the constable, Dogberry and if you’re a fan of Nathan Fillion and the character Dogberry, you know this was a casting choice from heaven.

Much Ado About Nothing is definitely my favorite Shakespeare play. And this film is my favorite adaptation, which is saying a lot as Kenneth Branagh has always been the Shakespeare god of my Shakespearean education. Even if you’re a Branagh snob, I think you’ll like Joss Whedon’s film. Just check out the trailer to give yourself a taste.

You want to see it now, don’t you? Check out Fandango to find it in a theater near you!

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

