Friday Destination: 99W Drive-In Theater

Newberg, Oregon doesn’t have a whole lot going for it. When I was a really little kid, we ignored Newberg until the new Fred Meyer opened and Terry Porter (a former Portland Trailblazer) was brought down to sign autographs and promote the new store. But when I was high school, I discovered the one, true treasure of Newberg: the Drive-In Theater.

My mom, my brother Shane, and I were all in the back of the truck with my dad (not pictured).

My mom, my brother Shane, and I were all in the back of the truck with my dad (not pictured).

The 99W Drive-In Theater has been around since 1953, you know, the years the movie Grease portrayed. Drive-Ins were THE place to go. You’d go part with your fling and… watch Grease, you’ll figure it out.

My love for the Drive-In is much pure. I first went when I was in high school with a big group of friends. A few of us borrowed our dads’ trucks and we packed in and headed to the Drive-In. Those were good times.

The Drive-In has only gotten more fun for me over the years. Granted, the last two times I have gone, I’ve had trouble staying awake (due to temp jobs that require me to wake up at 4 AM), but that’s beside the point. I’ve still gone and loved every minute I’ve been there. (My brother Shane might say that the last time we went, I complained about not having enough of the air mattress even though I apparently had over half of the air-filled plastic doohickey, but he’s always been a bit of an exaggerator so – take it or leave it.)

You can bring your own food into the Drive-In, but you can’t take a grill. There are many rules and protocols at the Drive-In. I suggest you follow them or someone in my family will use their passive-aggressive voice and complain about what you’re doing wrong.

The Drive-In is opened every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evening. Cars line up early. I would suggest you get to there by 6:30 PM to secure a good spot. The first movie doesn’t start until dusk. The food at the concession stand is fabulous and even if you bring your own food, I suggest you get something there to support the theater so you can one day take your kid.

These children (my nieces) were loud and obnoxious at the Drive-In, but they sure had fun.

These children (my nieces) were loud and obnoxious at the Drive-In, but they sure had fun.

Movies are advertised on the reader board on 99W and on http://www.99w.com. Try to go at least once this summer. Take your truck, car, lawn chairs, etc. Just go and enjoy the double feature. (They play two movies every week and admission is just $8 per adult!)

Happy Friday!

Rece

Leave a Reply

