Free Morning in P-Town

I like Portland. I don’t live there though. I happen to live outside the city about an hour or an hour and a half – depending on who’s driving. My big brother works in Portland so he gets to chill in downtown Portland every workday. I don’t think he really takes advantage of the city – he needs his little sister (me) to show take him around for some culture. (Though you might be able to say that he cultures me as well.)

Portland sign

Today, big brother and I took on Portland in quick and carb-ridden fashion – our main goal – to purchase the sweetest, most delectable sweet pastries around.

After getting off the max up by the Timbers’ house, we walked a few blocks down to my brother’s office building. The walking was necessary – I mean, we were about to eat donuts and perhaps cakes, we needed what little exercise points the block wandering would get us.

Our first stop – Blue Collar Bakery.

I don't know if you can see us well, but Shane and I were trying to take a picture of our reflection.

I don’t know if you can see us well, but Shane and I were trying to take a picture of our reflection.

Let me just say, I love this place. If we hadn’t been on a mission, I would have wanted to sit down here and eat my coffee and scone right there. The interior of the bakery is awesome. It’s so… just… original. And that’s what makes it awesome. The coffee was good and the cakes and cookies are always delicious. This is actually one of Shane’s favorite places in Portland and he showed me it so that I would know about it too. Ah – love it.

As we were leaving, I told Shane, “Can’t you just imagine sitting here and hanging out, writing?” He chuckled, surely because he agreed. I would though. If I lived in Portland, I think Blue Collar Bakery would be one of my stops.

Voodoo Doughnuts was the second stop.

Voodoo Sign

Shane had never been to Voodoo Doughnuts before. I had, but I wanted to go again, because once you do Voodoo, your life just is never the same. Plus, the two of us had been talking about visiting this Portland icon for a while.

The wait was long.

Rece and Shane.08.09.13

But the doughnuts were good. I still love the bacon and maple bar. But the most classic is the Voodoo Doughnut with the raspberry jelly filling in the middle. Yum! And I didn’t feel like I was causing anyone (besides myself) harm when eating it. (WINK!)

Voodoo Doughnut

Our free morning in Portland ended at Powell’s City of Books. Yes, I’m a book nerd, but I love, love, love this bookstore. I’m actually one of those people who even as a child at a mall, spent most of her time in a bookstore. (NERD ALERT! x 100)

These were just the three places my brother and I visited in Portland. There are many more places, including a place called Blue Star Donuts that my friend Chris told me about. I know I we could have gone there today, I think three high-carb joints would have been a little bit much.

Until next time,

Rece

6 thoughts on “Free Morning in P-Town

  1. If you go to Blue Star, go early: we got there around 2:30 one Saturday, and I think they had a total of 3 doughnuts left in the whole place. I’ve heard good things, though.

    Never heard of Blue Collar Bakery. I’ll be sure to check it out!

Leave a Reply

