Pool time and Going “Through It”

Pa Bunn has ensured that the pool is crystal-clear this summer.

Pa Bunn has ensured that the pool is crystal-clear this summer.

My siblings and I spent a lot of our childhood swimming. This was probably because our mom learned in early motherhood that if you taught your kids to swim well when they were young, you could essentially have a great vacation every summer so you could read while your kids played in the pool all day.

We’d swim at the community pool in La Grande by the Armory where my dad worked. And when we moved to Dayton, we’d swim in our grandparent’s large pool with our cousins down the road or in the five-foot pool in the backyard of our house.

My love for pools, swimming, and general bodies of water has remained, but a few things are different which I will get to in a minute.

My sister had her daughter pee outside on the pee tree one afternoon this week. (If you don’t know what a pee tree is, you obviously aren’t much of a camper, farm kid, nor are you a part of the lower class. A pee tree is a tree in one’s yard, forest or camp site that you designate for peeing underneath so as to organize the place pee is dispensed.) When my niece was done, she walked over to the pool and waited the five extra minutes until she could get in the pool. Then my sister asked her daughter, “did you pull your swimsuit down our did you go through it?” “Through it,” she answered. Shelli (my sister) turned to me with a disgusted look. I didn’t respond with the anticipated sympathy look. Instead, I answered, “We used to do it.”

My nephew Spencer loves visiting his grandparents because he gets to swim all the time.

My nephew Spencer loves visiting his grandparents because he gets to swim all the time.

She chuckled and responded, “Yeah, but you have a different perspective when you’re an adult.”

What she said is true and not just when referring to peeing through one’s swimsuit. A lot of things change when you become an adult: facial hair, one’s body and metabolism, money issues, the way one relates to others, and many, many more. I’m glad we change as adults, because if we didn’t, we’d all be peeing through our swimsuits, and I’m sorry, but if that were the case, I would not go swimming nearly as often.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

