Fighting for the Same Love

Music moves me. It’s not just that music makes me dance or bob my head. Music also helps me deal with life, stress, depression, and heartbreak. When I’m grumpy and tired in the morning, it’s music that wakes me up from my slumber. When I’m frustrated with a family member, I pull up some tunes on my iPod and go for a walk to cool down. Music is just a general requirement for my life.

The other day, I was driving and I heard the most fabulous song on the radio. I was surprised because the music was catchy, but the lyrics were amazing. The song is Same Love by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis. And it’s a powerful, powerful song. It’s a song about love and stereotypes and fighting for equality.

Screen Shot 2013-08-10 at 8.12.48 PMI love this song. It makes me want to fight for my brother who has been unable to marry the love of his life legally for the last ten years. I want them to get married and I want to be able to honor their love and commitment with the other guests they invite to their wedding.

I agree with the song, that “a certificate on paper isn’t gonna solve it all, but it’s a good place to start.” Last week, I signed the petition Oregon Says I Do, fighting for all couples to have the same rights in marriage. It’s about time we do this. It’s time to get it right, Oregon.

Take care.

Rece

One thought on “Fighting for the Same Love

Leave a Reply

