Ben is Batman…

So Ben wants to be Batman, eh? Oh. You thought I was talking about Ben Affleck? I was actually talking about my brother, but since you brought up Ben Affleck, let’s talk about that. I’ve always loved Ben Affleck. When I was high school, my best friend bought me a poster of Ben Affleck and gave it to me for Christmas. It hung on my wall for the remainder of high school, followed me to college and has been lovingly placed in my apartments in Eugene and Corvallis. I loved him in Armageddon, which is the movie the poster promotes. But when it came to picking my favorite Hollywood actor, Ben was never my first choice. Even when picking between Ben and his best friend and Good Will Hunting co-screenwriter Matt Damon, I picked Matt. Matt just had that I’m sweet, awesome, friendly, and down-to-earth quality that Ben seemed to miss in his various roles. I always thought of Ben as the dumb jock who dribbled his basketball and never stopped to chat with the fans where as Matt was the charismatic point guard who tried to get journalists to put pix of him with his mom in the paper rather than just him.

I happen to like Ben Affleck in his mature age. And I want to see Runner, Runner because of Ben, not Justin!

I happen to like Ben Affleck in his mature age. And I want to see Runner, Runner because of Ben, not Justin!

Nevertheless, there came a point when I gained a deep respect for Ben Affleck. It probably had something to do with The Town. Affleck both directed and acted in The Town. It was completely and totally awesome. The whole time I was watching, I was rooting for the criminals. That’s really the way, isn’t it? We want the person we connect with to win. That’s why when we fall for a jerk, we can’t let go – we just keep hoping that person will live up to their potential and surprise us all by being a stellar individual.

Hmmm… now as for Ben as Batman. I like the choice. Though Matt Damon is my favorite of the two (I keep mentioning these two because of the picture you see below here)Matt & Ben, I think that Ben is more Batmanesque. Batman, as you know, is a bit of a cliché and Ben Affleck fits that a little better. But Matt Damon, now there is a quality actor. He’s Jason Bourne. He’s the jerk from School Ties. He’s Will from Good Will Hunting. He’s different. He can’t become a franchise; he’s beyond that. But Ben… he can do it. He has done it. He’s dated J.Lo! You can’t get more cliché than that…

Tata for now.

Rece

Please note that although I called Ben a cliché up above, I still love him. I mean, seriously. If I didn’t, I wouldn’t have hung up my old Armageddon poster in my new apartment. 😉

You can see from the torn edges, that this poster has made it to a few different homes over the past fourteen years.

You can see from the torn edges, that this poster has made it to a few different homes over the past fourteen years.

And here’s a little bit of what the Paste people say about Ben as Batman.

One thought on “Ben is Batman…

  1. When I heard this news a few days ago, I was shocked. Honestly, I still do not know how to react to this.. I am not a huge fan of Batman but I have to admit that I never thought about Ben being the next batman. Hes just soooo Ben! haha. Its kind of the same feeling I got when I found out that Disney bought Lucasflims.. Lets just Hope great things come out of these shocking decisions.

Leave a Reply

