Advice for new parents

One of my favorite cousins just adopted a baby girl. They waited and waited and finally my cousin Mike and his wife Heather have their baby girl: Story Elizabeth Bunn. So cool. I would include a picture, but Mike’s one of those guys who closes his facebook wall so I’ll refrain.

About a month and a half ago, I went to a baby shower for Mike and I made him a little book. In it, I shared advice for new parents. This is important, of course, parenting is rough. Parenting is exhausting. It’s a full-time job only you don’t get any money for living expenses or retirement when you do it.

I’m not a parent. However, I know a few things all parents/babysitters/teachers/grandparents should know. Here are a few of them:

• Do not feed chili and hotdogs to a baby. – Not only is this gross, but it’s not healthy for the kid.
• Keep Ziploc bags handing for puking and other emergencies at all times. – This is a Ma Bunn thing. She keeps Ziploc bags everywhere: in her car, in her purse, in the kitchen, and she buys them for her daughters whenever she visits their houses and realizes that they don’t have any.
• Teach your kid to like folk and Americana music early. – Kid music about wheels on a bus and tiny spiders and waterspouts are just lame. Let them come into the world with awesome music tastes.
• Give hugs and kisses. – Kids need to be and feel loved. When kids don’t get the hugs and attention they need, they become obnoxious. I’m a hugger just to get everyone around me to quit being obnoxious.
• And finally, make your kids eat vegetables by showing that they are natural, delicious, and awesome, because if your kid doesn’t know that vegetables are great when they’re little, problems will arise when they get older.

There you have it.

Tata for now.

Rece

P.S. You’re welcome. I always give the best advice.

2 thoughts on “Advice for new parents

Leave a Reply

