The Storm A Brewing

So there’s a storm a brewing in my life. It’s messy and it’s frustrating and I don’t know how it’s going to turn out in the end. The problem is this: I am an Oregon Duck and I am going to attend and work at OSU in a little less than two weeks. This is good, of course. I WANT to go to Oregon State and I am thrilled to have a job there so I can gain some practical experience while I’m in school. Other good things are that I love Corvallis, my apartment, the campus, and my school program. But the bad thing is still that I became a Duck first and there is a piece of me that feels like I’m cheating somehow. This has got to be normal, I’m sure. Most people who have made a switch like this remain true to their first schools. But for me, who knows. My Peace Corps country was Ukraine; I lived there for three years, but my favorite country, my dream place to live is actually the neighboring country, Poland. So yeah, where does my loyalty lie? My mom likes to joke that at the end of two years, I’ll join the Oregon State Alumni Association just like I did the University of Oregon’s. This may be true. I don’t know. What I do know is that every time I wear my Beaver Nation t-shirt and people talk to me about my team, I explain to them that I am a person divided; I am a platypus and I just can’t deny that I love both schools already.

Oregon Soda Cans

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

