A Goonie-filled Daycation

Goonies Never Say Die!

The Goonies is one of those movies that truly awesome people love. Seriously. I don’t think I could be good friends with someone who didn’t like The Goonies. This movie is one of the things that make me proud to be an Oregonian and also glad that my high school mascot was a Pirate. When I meet people from other states and they start to ask me questions about what Oregon is like or if I like it all that much, one of the first things I tell them is that The Goonies is filmed in Astoria, one of the most awesome places in our beautiful Oregon.

Well, this summer I discovered that not only do Astorians hold a mini Goonies festival for fanatics once a year, but they also set up an Oregon Film Museum in the old Clatsop County Jailhouse.Oregon Film Museum What?! I know, right? SO COOL! So once I found out that, I put it in my bucket list journal for something to do in 2013. And I needed to do it before moving down to Corvallis, because, well, I needed to be free of crazy school and work schedules. So yesterday, we went. The we involved was me and my 64-year-old father who I will hereon refer to as “Pops.”

I drove and Pops talked as we headed from Yamhill County to Clatsop County. Once we got into Astoria, I kept mentioning that I needed to type in the address to my phone to find the jail, but as I pulled into the parking lot to do this, I screamed. I had pulled into the Jailhouse parking lot without any help at all. This was meant to be, I shrieked.

The museum is amazing. Note that I am a die-hard Goonies fan and that it’s a museum pretty much dedicated to the Goonies with a few other things thrown in here and there. My dad enjoyed the screening room where you go to three different mini-sets and film yourself reading the scripts of movies filmed in Oregon. He also did his own political ad which was HILARIOUS! (Sometime I need to upgrade my blog so I can finally upload the funny videos!)

But since I know that you are all picture people and that you want to see what this awesomeness was all about, I’ll show you my top five.

First: They have mini notepads and an area for people to leave messages about why they love the Goonies.

Goonies Never Say Die

Second: The screen test was a lot of fun. Plus, I just liked wearing the Viking hat.

Rece on screen

Third: The Jeep! Three bullet holes – just like Chunk saw.

The Jeep

Fourth: Chunk. I mean, seriously. Who doesn’t love Chunk?

Chunk Cartoon

Fifth: The Schmuck sign. On the way up to Astoria, I had to explain to my dad the jail scene from the movie, which is at the very beginning, by the way. He started to nod understanding and by the time we arrived at the museum had remembered most of the jail scene.

Pa a Schmuck

Ok. So you saw the pictures. Now you really want to go, right? Drive on over! It’s bound to be a Goonies Daycation you won’t forget.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

