Therapy Comes in All Shapes and Sizes

I believe in therapy. When you therapize yourself, you get better. Ok. So therapize isn’t a word, but it could be, right? I don’t mean that I go to a psychiatrist or that I see a counselor (though my sister Shelli thinks I need one). I have other therapy: Weight Watchers, friend dates, vent sessions, swimming, writing, movie marathons, and photography. These things help me feel better.

Archie's Ice Cream is the place to go in downtown Dayton.

Archie’s Ice Cream is the place to go in downtown Dayton.

Last week I had a few odd days which left me feeling strange, saddish, and a bit mopey. To get over it, I went through the list of proper therapies. First, I went to my friend’s house for a full-on heart-to-heart vent/tell-all session. This helped. But then the next day came the therapy started to wear off. Lucky for me, my niece was at my parents’ house when I got off work. She was very enthusiastic to see me. In fact, she wanted to ditch all the fun she was having with my old dad to hang out with just me. So we watched Hannah Montana and we danced to the Hoedown Throwdown song.

MayTay actually did get her feet wet twice, without actually meaning to.

MayTay actually did get her feet wet twice, without actually meaning to.

Once I decided to start writing in a chair in the corner rather than snuggling in to watch the movie together, she started to nag me about going on a date with her. And so we did. I put in the car and the two of us drove to Dayton for some ice cream and park play. Hanging at the park was fun for me until a bunch of local kids decided that I seemed nice and cool and they wanted me to push them on the merry-go-round. (Please note that their mother was in the family suburban playing with her phone while her girls were playing. LAME!)

As soon as I got tired of the playground, it was time to do something else which was how MayTay and I ended up at the river’s edge. She almost fell into the river twice, but luckily she caught herself and didn’t get drenched in the dirty water.

I'm so glad I've had the time to get to know my niece. She's a really amazing young lady.

I’m so glad I’ve had the time to get to know my niece. She’s a really amazing young lady.

As we walked back to the park and our vehicle, MayTay and I discussed what cool chicks we are. It’s true, you know, we are very cool chicks and sometimes we just have to remember this.

Spending time with my beloved niece therapizes me. Not only did she start out the date with an intense review of her love for Dominic, a boy from Texas who she loves dearly and knows her so well from their TEN DAYS TOGETHER TWO YEARS AGO, but she helped me forget the triggers that got me stressing in the first place. Therapy – it’s what you need to help you get over the silly frustrations we come across. I’m just glad my therapy comes in the shape of a seven-year-old freckled red-head who thinks I’m the coolest aunt in the world.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

