Leaving the Nest, yet again

For the past seven months, I’ve been chilling with my parents, living in my older brothers’ former bedroom. It’s been fun, tiring, and special. A few weeks ago, I moved all of my stuff down to my own apartment in Corvallis, but because of my work schedule at my summer (seasonal) job, I’ve come back up to stay with my parents for a few days at a time. My parents love this because they get to see me more. The other night, as I was working to paint my gigantic wooden file cabinet, my dad and mom came out to check on me various times. In fact, for the first few hours I worked on it, the two of them sat in chairs watching me.

Painting furniture isn't as easy as I thought it would be. I'm actually really glad to be working on it near my Pops.

Painting furniture isn’t as easy as I thought it would be. I’m actually really glad to be working on it near my Pops.

At one point, my mom got cold so the two of them went inside to start watching a movie. I kept working, painting my furniture and listening to my awesome music. My parents came out to check on me two or three different times. It was sort of funny, their interest. Technically I live in Corvallis now so my visits back home are short and temporary. It’s just funny to me. I’m thirty years old. I lived alone on the other side of the world for three and a half years. And yet now that I’m living in Corvallis, which is just fifty miles away from my parents’ house, they’re sort of freaking out. Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that this will be the LAST time I move out of their house because now, at long last, I am claiming my adulthood. A girl should never get too old to hang out with her parents, but there definitely comes a time in a millennial girls’ life when it’s just time to really, truly leave the nest (after a five or six tries).

Tata for now.

Rece

2 thoughts on “Leaving the Nest, yet again

  1. Yes, I love living about a mile and a half from my mom. It’s close, but not close enough for her to come bug me every hour. I lived in Boise for about a year, and it just felt like didn’t see my family enough. We see each other about the same amount of time now, but living in Boise made me feel like I lived really far away. It is nice to know that someone misses you or cares if you made it home. But it is also nice just to live by yourself.

    • I’ve done so much of the moving back and forth in and out of my parents’ house that this move couldn’t have come soon enough. My freedom gives me air – it’s as if I can finally breath and be me again…

Leave a Reply

