My Money is on Twitter…

I’ve been a facebook hater. I have deleted my account at least twice and have gone through phases of classifying my friends and deleting/blocking certain individuals based on my mood, my professional status, and content posted by certain individuals. I’m pretty sure some of my friends have deleted me too as every once in a while, I try to find someone from one of my past lives and they’re not on my friend list anymore.

For the most part, these days I like facebook. I like to be able to catch up with old friends and see what someone is up to when I hear a song that reminds me of that person. It’s also strange and exciting to find out who’s gotten divorced and is now getting remarried. In a way, facebook is like the People magazine of people I have come in contact with in the thirty years of my life. But as much as I like facebook for connecting me to people from my life, it’s not my favorite social media site. I am absolutely, totally, head over heels in love with Twitter. I think it has something to do with the cute blue bird icon.

Screen Shot 2013-09-22 at 1.29.40 PM

Seriously. Isn’t it adorable? I told my friend that I knew I would like Corvallis a few years ago when I drove through downtown and saw a sign for a clothing store that looked German. That’s all it took. Then I noted that I probably befriended him for the same reason: some joke, a certain outfit he wore, or even a well-timed eye-roll. We both agreed that at some point, I should learn to be more discerning with my affections. But that doesn’t change the fact that the blue Twitter bird is in my heart. When I finish grad school and get my back tattoo, it’ll either be a Twitter bird or an owl. Birds are just cool.

But for me, Twitter is more than just birds chirping. Twitter is about a state of mind, an openness and a level of honesty that people in my parents’ generation could never understand. Twitter is about one’s knowledge, one’s feelings, and one’s opinions and how they can share all of that in 140 characters. My text messages aren’t even less than 140 characters these days. I write mini books (in reality just really long text messages) to explain my moods, previous messages, and mini stories to the friend I mentioned above.

Twitter is open. It allows you to follow a number of companies, people, and groups that you care about. You can actually read or ignore whatever you want. I had a friend who used to complain about what people were posting on facebook and how it was clogging up his news feed and I wanted to punch him. If news feeds and peoples’ posts bothered him, I said, he might as well just quit checking facebook.

I’m an avid social media user, but if I’m ever in one of those moods where silly posts or political commentaries will strike a nerve and make me a bad person for an hour or so, I stay away. Social media is about being social and connected and caring. If you’re not in a mood to socialize, stay away from technology. Read a book (You remember what one of those is, right? It’s got paper and a cover.).

Yeah, so I have this visual in my mind. I see Twitter and facebook in an arm-wrestling match. The entire world is watching, waiting to see what’s going to happen. The Obama campaign is biting their nails, wondering which medium they used most effectively in the past and how they should continue until 2016. I’ve got a front row seat with a smile on my face. All my money is on Twitter. And after a quick countdown, that little blue bird took down facebook.

What about you? Do you have a preference between the two?

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

