The Key to Life: Find Happiness

I buy into the garbage. I believe that I will be happier if I had the perfect body and that if I had a job that made me rich, I could have everything I want in life. In reality, I know this is impossible. I know that if as soon as I get everything I want in life, I’ll suddenly want more things, different things. At OSU’s University Day about a week ago, the president shared what a former alumnus had shared: it’s best to make unreachable goals because if you reach the impossible, you won’t know what to do with yourself.

Goals are good. I’m great with making goals and working to achieve them, but when your goals get in the way of living a normal, happy life, you’ve got to start living in the now and enjoying what you have. I know that I need to work on this. I’ve needed to work on this for a while. I can’t everything… if I want to settle down, I’ve just got to do it. If I want to continue to wander, I’ve got to deal with the loneliness that will come with that.

Screen Shot 2013-09-22 at 7.12.43 PMTwo of my friends posted this blog from Huffington Post to their facebook wall’s the other day. It’s amazing and true and it really gets to the heart of what I’m trying to say right here. Life needs to be lived, not dreamed. We’ve got to be happy today, not tomorrow. I’m trying to work on this. And yes, this often means that my diet does make sense (I feel better after eating fruit than I do when I eat a giant bowl of Mac & Cheese.) and that working towards a more fit body might give me more energy, but the real point is that happiness is about today. It’s about now. It’s about doing what I need to do today to be happy today and to feel good and positive about tomorrow (should the Zombie apocalypse hold off for a few more years or so).

My two favorite tips from the blog are to look at the stars and let people in. The stars are gorgeous. They are sweet. They shine. They make dark nights so much more manageable. They take away the fear I feel in the dark. And as for letting people in… for the most part, I’ve been really good at this. I have friends all over the world, but when it comes to that special someone I’m supposed to eventually share my life with, I’ve been a bit selfish and hermitish about it. And that is something that I know I must change.

The thing to take away today is that we all need to be happy. And we need to be happy now. I believe this means that it’s ok to not always rationalize one’s feelings or emotions. Sometimes, it’s ok to be the Marianne Dashwood from Sense & Sensibility just so long as you’re the happy, fun one, not the crying in the rain, pathetic one. Life is too short to live unhappily. Be happy.

Rece

Leave a Reply

