Platypus Girl – Take Three

When it comes to football, I have a really, really hard time being objective with this platypus thing. For the September 28th Oregon State game against Colorado, I experienced my first real football game as a student. I was pretty excited. I bought my Beaver gear. I went to the tailgate and then meandered over to the game. But I was in the student section for under five minutes of the first quarter when I started to think, man this game is lame. I don’t know if it was due to the rain, the guy sitting in front of me, or the fact that Benny the Beaver doesn’t do pushups like Puddles the Duck, but there was something off about attending that football game. Don’t get me wrong, I was glad to go and definitely plan on going to more games in the future, but when it really comes down to it, I am a Duck football fan. That’s why the Duck football gnome still sits up on my vintage cassette tape cabinet and why I wear my Duck football shirts to bed every night. I am a Duck football fan and it’s always going to be that way.

Granted, just because I love the Ducks forever and for always, that doesn’t mean that I can’t still go to Beaver football games or that I can’t pretend to be into the giant “O” chant or the “O.S.U.” bits and pieces. I can do this because I go to school here and have a lot of respect for the university. I just know that it is like they say it is: Once a Duck, always a Duck.

Tata for now.

Rece

The CSSAers at OSU are the best part of the university. We all went to the Colorado game together. #gobeavs

The CSSAers at OSU are the best part of the university. We all went to the Colorado game together. #gobeavs

Leave a Reply

