Platypus Girl Take Six – Beaver Nation Fun Fair

Yes. I kept it. It's awesome.

Yes. I kept it. It’s awesome.

When I studied abroad in Oxford, my friends and I went to this resource/club fair where we could learn about the different choirs, clubs, and sports activities we could be a part of. I signed up for a choir with my friend Courtney and also, as a joke, the Star Trek Society (I still have the brochure. Check it!). (Please note: I never actually went to a Star Trek Society meeting though now I sort of wish that I had.)

Well on Friday, over here in Beaver Nation (AKA Oregon State University) we had a resource fair in the MU Quad. It was awesome. I got so much free stuff. But the coolest part was that I found two sweet clubs/organizations/followings to check out. One of them is Bird Nerds. I’m not really much of a birder right now and I don’t really foresee myself shelling out cash for binoculars for any reason (I’d rather buy more shoes and clothes) but I’d totally be into going birding once or twice this year. How cool would that be?

The Bird Nerds Bio

The Bird Nerds Bio

And then, of course, there was the booth about preparing for the zombie apocalypse. I didn’t even have to hear the speech about that one before signing up. They are providing self-defense classes and preparedness seminars so that when the zombie apocalypse does in fact happen, everything will be alright. Will I be a leader for this club? No. Will I read the emails and consider attending a meeting to know more about this subculture? YES!

When I was at the U of O for grad school, I missed all opportunities for campus involvement. I was working three jobs and going to school full-time so I didn’t have a lot of free time, but I wish I would have gone to at least one of these resource fairs. If nothing else, it’s a fun place to get a bunch of free candy and brochures for campus happenings.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

