Greetings, November.

It’s November first. Woot! Woot! Usually, if you get paid at the end of the month or on the first of the month, that means you eat out and enjoy a jolly good time that first or second day. That’s not my month. It’s sad with rent, Comcast (I gotta cancel the TV portion), electricity, food – there’s no money for fun. So what, pray tell, does a shopaholic girl do under these circumstances?

I’ll tell you the secret, but it’s a hard one to take. The answer is one word, five letters: study. I have no money to go buy fun novels to add to my collection so I study. The change in my wallet goes to pay for printing. The money I prepaid on my OSU ID is just about gone so I eat the spinach I moved to the back of the fridge. This is the life of a grad student: you have no money and you study.

Thanksgiving is coming up in a few weeks. I would get excited about this break from the poor, student life as I went home and gorged on tasty food my dad cooked. But I have a giant paper due that Friday and so I will be studying and writing while my family is eating turkey. I’m not too heartbroken though – I hate turkey.

One final thing, the true reality of a student’s life is that when you get paid like I did and you get money of the ATM to “spend for fun” you end up trading that twenty dollar bill over the counter for two rolls of quarters so that you can go back to your apartment and wash the dirty clothes that are stinking up your room. This is my life. Ain’t it grand?

(And you thought thirty-year-old women led glamorous lives… not this one!)

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

