HAPPY BIRTHDAY, OREGON!

Other people think of February 14th as Valentine’s Day. I don’t. Well, I kind of do, but I try to think beyond Valentine’s Day most of the time. You see, Valentine’s Day reminds me of middle school rejection. There was a guy named Brian who I was madly in love with. He was in love with the really athletic girl in his class. I was a year younger and I couldn’t even throw a Frisbee. So since that awful February, my focus on February 14th has been on the state of my birth – not how I was born, but that divided section of the United States that we call Oregon. Unlike that guy named Brian, Oregon has always been here for me with rain, snow, sunshine, flowers, ocean, rivers, people, and weirdness. I love this state.

Happy Birthday, Oregon.

Leave a Reply

