Breaking Blog Traditions and Being a Flower

It’s March. If Spring Break happens this month does this mean that this month is the beginning of Spring? If it doesn’t, I think it should.

So at the beginning of 2014, I announced the monthly themes for Peanut Butter Girl for 2014. Today, March 2nd, I’m totally giving up on this year of themed months. There are many reasons for this but the biggest was that the themes were so stifling and set for me that with the stress I encounter as a grad student, sister, daughter, friend, aunt, older-than-average college student, hypochondriac that I just couldn’t follow through. So I am reverting back to my old method of blog writing I did back in Oxford and then again in Ukraine where I blog about life things that inspire, confuse, or intrigue me. It’s just more real that way. Trust me, you’ll see.

Now that we’ve got that out of the way, I wanted to share a new discovery with you. This past week, I realized that I’m a bit too much like a flower. Like, for real. When the sun is out, flowers shine. They raise their heads and soak up the rays and show off their beautiful and sunny personalities to all who walk past them. When it’s too hot, the flowers wilt and shrink into their sensitive skin. When it’s too cold, rainy, or windy the flowers are weak and shy away from life, wishing to be inside where they were not so cold and threatened with destruction.

I am such a flower. I love the sun, but not when it’s too hot. When it rains or snows, I want to stay inside and read a good book to escape from the evils of rough weather. The one part of this whole “I am a flower” bit that doesn’t fit well is that I live through all four seasons. I suppose perhaps I could rethink it and say that I’m a Christmas Cactus and I only bloom during certain times of the year, but honestly, that’s just too deep for a rainy day like today.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

