Top Five Oscar Moments of 2014

So when I was in grad school at the University of Oregon, I was working on a term paper one night when I turned on the TV and saw that the Oscars were on TV. I had to watch it. I mean, seriously, I’m a movie girl. How could I NOT have watched it and then still called myself a movie person? I couldn’t have. Thus, I watched them. And I’ve been watching them every year since.

So last night’s Oscars were pretty good. I was entertained and happy and generally just in a good mood about going to the movies soon. (I’ve barely seen any of the films that won – Yikes!) As is usual with the Oscars, things happened, stars showed their shadow sides, and people like me get to write about it. Last year, all the hate was directed at Seth MacFarlane (except from me because I loved his monologue). This year, it was all about John Travolta – but hold on, we’ll get to that in a second. It’ll be one of the top five.

So here they are – the Top Five Oscar Moments of 2014

1. Ellen. Need I say more? Ellen is awesome. She rocked the show without even seeming to try to be doing so. She spent more time with the stars in the audience than she did on stage. She ordered pizza. She took Lupita Nyong-o’s lip gloss. Essentially, she entertained us through the whole show (which went long because of Matthew McConaughey’s Jerry Maguire-esque speech. (SHOW ME THE MONEY! – McConaughey’s speech ended up being about how he’s his own hero – can we say narcissist any quicker?) But of course, Ellen kept her cool and even offered Bradley Cooper a consolation prize of scratch-it lotto tickets when he lost the best supporting actor award. Ellen was #totallyawesome.
2. That time when Twitter crashed because of Ellen’s selfie with a bunch of stars. Yes, I retweeted it. (When the numbers were still in the 100s thank you very much!)

Screen Shot 2014-03-03 at 9.32.21 AM

3. John Travolta’s disastrous attempt to say Idina Menzel. The tweets say it best. I think the guy was loaded though. He looked a bit off on stage anyway.
Screen Shot 2014-03-03 at 9.31.49 AM

4. The gummy bears on stage. Seriously, those giant translucent Oscars looked like gummy bears. If they were, Ellen could have saved a few bucks when she ordered the pizza. (P.S. I hope that pizza guy gets a movie gig now that he’s been on TV once.)

Screen Shot 2014-03-03 at 9.32.06 AM

5. When Lupita Nyong’0 won for best supporting actress. Her acceptance speech was my favorite.

Lupita

Did any of you all watch the fancy award show? Any different top fives? Do tell. I love comments.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

