My crush on Adam Sandler has officially ended.

When I was in high school, I had a thing for Adam Sandler. I don’t know what it was… Perhaps I liked his crass songs. Maybe I liked the way he made acting stupid seem cool… It probably was the Chanukah song he sang on SNL or that he was friends with Chris Farley… Yeah. I think that was it.

The crush was pretty strong a few years ago. I mean, I bought the best of Adam Sandler on DVD. But in the last year or two, I lost all interest. It started with Grown Ups 2. It just wasn’t funny. A bunch of old farts hanging out, making fun of the hot Twilight kid? No thanks. But today, when I watched Blended with my folks, I really lost interest.

Blended is the story of two single parents who go to South Africa on a random vacation and fall in love, eventually blending their families. I disliked this movie intensely because Sandler’s representation of South Africa seemed incredibly problematic. Perhaps I’m a bit sensitive about this. I’m actually going to South Africa in a little over a month and not for a pampered vacation, but to study educational and social reform. Blended seems to perpetuate White, American dominance and I just don’t see it as funny or something I would ever want to show my (hypothetical) kids. Plus, the music and songs South Africans are well-known for are songs that give people hope and solidarity in the face of racial oppression. I didn’t like that Sandler adapted the music to be ridiculous with juvenile humor.

As for the rest of the movie, I found it highly predictable. Of course Drew Barrymore’s ex-husband was going to try to get back together with her once he realized she had other men interested in her. Of course the emo kid was going to fall for the daughter once she lost the sweat-suit and fixed her hair. The story was so clichéd that I’m pretty sure my eight-year-old niece would have been able to guess the storyline.

If you want my advice about Blended and probably most all Adam Sandler movies (except Just Go With It – the one I still appreciate), just skip it. Save your money and go watch Divergent again.

For a glimpse of some movie reviews about Blended, check out The Washington Post’s or EW’s or use Google to find the reviewer you like best.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

