A Theory of Clothes

I like color. A lot. this doesn't mean that I need to wear all of it at once.

I like color. A lot. this doesn’t mean that I need to wear all of it at once.

My dream wardrobe belongs to my three-year-old niece. I know this is inappropriate for a woman my age. It becomes particularly salient when I see pictures like the one you see in this post. What was my goal? How did I think I would get away with something only my sweet rambunctious niece is able to pull off?

Kids can make Donald Duck grumpy faces and their aunts think it's cute and buy them stuff. When adults do this, their partners dump them for good.

Kids can make Donald Duck grumpy faces and their aunts think it’s cute and buy them stuff. When adults do this, their partners dump them for good.

This kind of reminds me of other things kids can do that adults can’t.

Kids can trip and scrape their knees – they’re just being active. When adults do this, they are klutzes.

Kids can cry to get what they want. When adults do this, they are hated for being manipulative.

Kids can throw themselves to the ground and have a tantrum when they missed their naps. When I do this, my family shuns me.

Kids can play all day without worrying about doing the dishes, making money, or getting work done. When adults adopt the no-work policy, they are milking the system.

I’m not saying that I don’t like being a thirty-something. I really do. But when I look at pictures of my niece and then myself trying to pull off the same color scheme and random outfit, I start to wonder what it’s going to take me to be a proper grown-up.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

