Comedy Junkie           

Under my Twitter handle, I have the following: Writer. Purple fanatic. Photographer. Platypus. Traveler. Movie buff. Coffee & tea lover. Comedy junkie. Book nerd. RPCV Ukraine. Teacher. Learner.

All of these things are true about me. But the thing that describes me most these days is Comedy junkie. I don’t know if it’s because I’m done with school, I live by myself, or I just had a huge life change and no one to share it with, but I have been absolutely, positively addicted to my MacBook watching comedy shows for the last three weeks. It’s terrifying to be honest. I have a deeper relationship with Andy Samberg and Seth Meyers right now than anyone else. This is probably not going to help me long-term.

The thing about comedy and smart comedians is that they actually get things. They realize that Donald Trump is a ridiculous choice for president and they are able to challenge his candidacy in a way that makes people laugh and perhaps challenge their ridiculous beliefs about the tycoon. They challenge the media, which is both necessary and awesome. And comedians are dorky people, which give some of us hope that we too may find success in this challenging world.

I realize that some people find comedy offensive. I totally get it. Pitch Perfect 2 went too far. The racist, sexist, and ethnocentric jokes throughout the movie weren’t smart in a way that challenged the isms, but rather perpetuated serious problematic systems that are in place here in the U.S. I really didn’t care for it. But even though Elizabeth Banks missed the mark on that film, there are plenty of smart comedians that are making the world a little bit better through their craft. My list of awesome comedians starts with these fools: Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, BJ Novak, Mindy Kaling, Jenny Lawson, Jimmy Fallon, Seth Meyers, and David Sedaris. And though I can’t argue that the next two comedians are world changers in my book, I appreciate their comedy for the 90s: Rachel Dratch and Adam Sandler.

With that, my friends, I must leave you and watch another clip on Hulu.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

