Introducing Theo

Those of you that read this blog might be on my Holiday Card List. If this is the case, you already know the major addition to my life in 2016 was Theo. Theo is handsome. He has great stamina. And he is a Toyota Corolla. I bought Theo in April, a day before I turned 33. The purchase wasn’t necessarily impulsive. After driving the 11 miles to work with a foggy windshield and the windows rolled down in the Blue Bullet, I decided it was time to grow up and buy a reliable car. Plus, as I approach my mid-thirties, I figured that it was time to start working towards some of my Oregon goals.

Back in 2009, I was living in Eugene, carless. I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to do with my life, but I was going to school for a graduate degree sure that the rhetoric and ethics of journalism would come in handy (which they have).screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-8-23-31-am

While living in Eugene, I felt at home. It was as if, for the first time, I felt like my home state was actually a place I could live forever. That’s definitely not how I felt about my hometown a bit further up north.

Well, as I adjusted to my feelings of home, I started to dream about my native Oregon. Where could I travel? What could I see? How could I engage more with the outdoors? Where could I take my camera and take amazing pictures? And so, bought a book, the Moon Handbook on Oregon. I know that today, apps like Yelp, Trip Advisor, and even Google could give me plenty of information about traveling around Oregon, but at the time, this book was perfect.

As Theo and I got to know each other this year, we started taking some trips. Our first big adventure was to Ashland for a night at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. Our next jaunt was to Crater Lake to see the gorgeous national park for the first time together.

Recently, I’ve taken Theo to Portland, Eugene, or to the Oregon Coast. My dad sometimes comments on how much gas I use, but hey, I chose Theo because he knows how to work it and gets great gas mileage. If I’m honest, I know that if I lived in an area with a better public transportation system, I would end my relationship with Theo because, quite frankly, we wouldn’t need each other. But at this time in my life, living in Oregon and taking mini daycations and adventures around my home state, he and I are perfect for one another.

Tata for now.

Rece

Leave a Reply

